Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

KamphuisB
Frequent Visitor

Count text values in column +1 DAX formula

Dear Power BI Users,

I am a bit new to the DAX formulas. I have searched a lot on the forum but i haven't found my answer for the following question. 

I would like to create a calculated column to count the text duplicates in a specific order, that it looks to the previous rows of data of the column. See data example below:

ColumnA  ColumnB

A1
B1
C1
D1
A2
E1
F1
B2
A3
D2
G1
H1
A4

How can i create calculated column B with DAX? 

Thanks for your help!

Kind regards,

Bas Kamphuis

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
v-huizhn-msft
Employee
Employee

Hi @KamphuisB,

For your requirement, you’d better add a index column, and calculate the result based on the index column. I reproduce your scenario and get desired result as follows.

Click the table, right click->Edit Query. In the Power Query Editor, under Add column, click add index column highlighted in yellow. You will get the index from first rows shown in following screenshot.

1.png

Then create another calculated column using the formula below.

ColumnB = RANKX(FILTER(Test1,Test1[ColumnA]=EARLIER(Test1[ColumnA])),Test1[Index],,ASC)

2.png

If you have any other issue, please feel free to ask.

Best Regards,
Angelia

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5
v-huizhn-msft
Employee
Employee

Hi @KamphuisB,

For your requirement, you’d better add a index column, and calculate the result based on the index column. I reproduce your scenario and get desired result as follows.

Click the table, right click->Edit Query. In the Power Query Editor, under Add column, click add index column highlighted in yellow. You will get the index from first rows shown in following screenshot.

1.png

Then create another calculated column using the formula below.