Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn a 50% discount on the DP-600 certification exam by completing the Fabric 30 Days to Learn It challenge.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Connecting to the NBA stats API

Hi everyone,

I am relatively new to connecting to public APIs and I have a problem. I'm trying to connect to the NBA API for draft history across all years and teams using the following GET: https://stats.nba.com/stats/drafthistory?LeagueID=00

I'm not sure how to query this using the Advanced Editor in Power BI. So far, I've tried the following to no success:

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

let
Source = {"https://stats.nba.com/stats/drafthistory?LeagueID=00"},
#"Converted to Table" = Table.FromList(Source, Splitter.SplitByNothing(), null, null, ExtraValues.Error),
#"Added Custom" = Table.AddColumn(#"Converted to Table", "Custom", each Json.Document(Web.Contents("https://stats.nba.com/stats/drafthistory?LeagueID=00")))
in
#"Added Custom"

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Does anyone have any ideas on how to create rows and columns from the API? Any help is much appreciated! 

3 REPLIES 3
dearwatson
Responsive Resident
Responsive Resident

Hi pops,

I messed around and got this query to extract the data...

let
    Source = Web.BrowserContents("https://stats.nba.com/stats/drafthistory?LeagueID=00"),
    #"Imported Text" = Lines.FromText(Source),
    #"Replaced Value" = List.ReplaceValue(#"Imported Text","<html><head></head><body><pre style=""word-wrap: break-word; white-space: pre-wrap;"">","",Replacer.ReplaceText),
    #"Replaced Value1" = List.ReplaceValue(#"Replaced Value","</pre></body></html>","",Replacer.ReplaceText),