Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Grow your Fabric skills and prepare for the DP-600 certification exam by completing the latest Microsoft Fabric challenge.

jeklund
Frequent Visitor

Complicated Task that seemed small....

Good morning all, I'm hoping someone can help me out here.  I'm very new to this and banging my head against a wall.

I am trying to pull information from a warehouse management database and use it to create reports in dax.  I have a situation which seemed simple, but has grown more and more complicated. 

Basically I have a "Tasks" database that monitors tasks.

When a pallet is received, a task is created and the relevant fields are:
TaskType = REC, TaskStatus = AVL

When this rec. task is completed, the relevant fields become:
TaskType = REC, TaskStatus = CPS, CompleteQty = (Actual # of cases on the pallet), CompleteTime = (Actual time the task was completed) and PackID = a unique number assigned to the pallet that will never be reused for another pallet, but will be identified in all future tasks.

Now, from time to time, things are received incorrectly, miscounted, whatever - and the pallet needs to be "Unreceived".  The resulting task will be:

TaskType = UNREC, TaskStatus = CPS, CompleteQty = (The number of cases unreceived from the pallet), CompleteTime = (Time this task was completed) and PackID = PackID that was assigned during the REC task that identifies the pallet.

Generally there are two scenarios here:

I receieve a pallet with, say 80 cases on it, and then have to unreceive the entire 80 cases and thus the entire pallet and the result is a REC that adds 80 cases/1 pallet and an UNREC that removes 80 cases/1 Pallet and thus no pallet is left in inventory.