Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

kalo1314
Regular Visitor

Calendar table for period with overlapped date

Hi all,

I am quite new to the Power Bi and may ask a silly question.  My problem is how to add a number of 12-month periods to the calendar table?  As he dates of the calendar table must be unique, but the periods in a column will be overlapped and induce duplicate dates.  What I want is to make a period slicer to filter other tables by period.

Thanks so much for your help in advance!!

8 REPLIES 8
v-tangjie-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @kalo1314 ,

Thanks to @AnalyticsWizard  and @OwenAuger  for their quick replies.

I have some other thoughts to add:
Power Query is used for cleansing the original data and is a stage of pre-processing the data, so a table or column is created in Power Query and then loaded into PBI Desktop and that table and column is visible, while the calculated columns created in PBI Desktop are part of the processing after the data is pre-processed, so they are not visible in Power Query.

Based on your description, we can create a table in PBI Desktop.

Calendar = 
 var MinDate=...//Your original formula.
 var MaxDate=...//Your original formula.
 RETURN
ADDCOLUMNS(CALENDAR(MinDate,MaxDate),"Year",YEAR([Date]),"Month_Name",FORMAT([Date],"mmm"),"Month_Number",MONTH([Date]),
 "Year_Month",CONCATENATE(YEAR([Date]),CONCATENATE("-",FORMAT([Date],"mmm"))),"Sort_YM",YEAR([Date])*100+MONTH([Date]),
 "Period",SWITCH(TRUE(),
 MONTH([Date])=1,"Jan - Dec 2023",
 MONTH([Date])=2,"Feb 2023 - Jan 2024",
 MONTH([Date])=3,"Mar 2023 - Feb 2024",
 MONTH([Date])=4,"Apr 2023 - Mar 2024"))

If I have misunderstood your needs, please clarify your logic and expected results in a follow-up response.

Best Regards,

Neeko Tang