Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Calendar Table only in Months

Hi, 

I'm pretty new to building things using DAX, so am struggling with some programming syntax...

I've built a table to recognise months, quarters and years for our financial year.  It would work perfectly except I can't use the Periods (which Accounting use as their unit for allocating transactions to time) as a Key field as it's not unique.  I though the easy answer would be to simply create a table which runs months instead of a daily calendar, however I'm struggling to make that work.  

Here's what works for the table:

AccountingCALENDAR =
VAR BASECALENDAR =
CALENDAR ( DATE ( 2018, 8, 1 ), now()+365 )
RETURN
GENERATE (
BASECALENDAR,
VAR BASEDATE = [DATE]
VAR YEARDATE = YEAR ( BASEDATE )
VAR WEEKNO = if( WEEKNUM( basedate,2) <31, WEEKNUM( basedate,2)+21, weeknum (basedate,2) - 30)
var WEEKDY = WEEKDAY(basedate,2)
VAR MONTHNUMBER = format ( if(MONTH ( BASEDATE ) <8, MONTH ( BASEDATE ) +4, MONTH ( BASEDATE ) -7), "00")
VAR MONTHNAME = FORMAT ( BASEDATE, "MMMM" )
VAR QUARTER = if( or( month (BASEDATE) = 8, or(month (BASEDATE) = 9, month (BASEDATE) = 10)), "Q1", if(or( month (BASEDATE) = 11, or( month (BASEDATE) = 12, month (BASEDATE) = 1)), "Q2", if( or ( month (BASEDATE) = 2,or( month (BASEDATE) = 3, month (BASEDATE) = 4)), "Q3","Q4")))
VAR YEARMONTHNAME = FORMAT ( BASEDATE, "MMM YY" )
VAR FYEAR = if(MONTH ( BASEDATE ) <8,YEAR (BASEDATE)-1, YEAR(BASEDATE))
VAR ACCOUNTYEAR = IF (YEARDATE = FYEAR,right ( YEARDATE , 2) &"/"& right (YEARDATE+1, 2), right (YEARDATE-1,2) &"/"& right (YEARDATE ,2) )
RETURN ROW (
"F MONTH", MONTHNUMBER,
"F Qtr", FYEAR & QUARTER,
"MONTH", MONTHNAME,
"PERIOD", FYEAR & MONTHNUMBER,
"ACCOUNTING YEAR",ACCOUNTYEAR,
"YEAR MONTH", YEARMONTHNAME
)
)