Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn a 50% discount on the DP-600 certification exam by completing the Fabric 30 Days to Learn It challenge.

ebc124
Frequent Visitor

Calculations are not adding up correctly in Power Bi Table

Hi! I am a beginner to Power BI and I am having an issue with a table that I created where specific "cells" or fields are not calculating correctly and others are.  I have provided a snapshot of the table I created. All values within the table are correct except the values in red boxes. For the year 2021 sum of usage, count of locationNo and count of accountNo are adding up correctly, however not for sum of charges. For the total, the total distinct count of account numbers are not adding up correctly and neither are the total distinct counts of location number, it seems the table is simply taking the 2022 data for the total.

ebc124_2-1681657216750.png

Why is this happening? What can I do?

2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS
Wilson_
Memorable Member
Memorable Member

Hello ebc,

Technically, they are all calculating correctly; whether they are all calculating as you intended is a different story altogether. 🙂

That being said, given that you've provided literally no information about your table, it's hard to know why you think the numbers in red boxes are wrong and what you're expecting instead.

My hypothesis for your confusion about the distinct counts of location and account though is you think the Total row is supposed to be a summation of all the other rows in the matrix. It's not. What it's doing is calculating a distinct count of your data table without filtering for any fiscal year. The total being the same as the distinct counts for 2022 tells me there are no location numbers or account numbers that appear between fiscal year 2012 and 2021 that isn't also in 2022.

View solution in original post

ebc,

Do you have subtotal rows or a grand total row in the 2021 source that is being picked up