Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Grow your Fabric skills and prepare for the DP-600 certification exam by completing the latest Microsoft Fabric challenge.

bertjacobs

Calculating Differences

Hi,

I have the following table with unit sales by product and by store summarized on a 4-weekly basis (4-4-5 scheme, 13 periods a year)

Capture.JPG

Now I would like to create a measure that calculates the difference between 'the sum of the last 13-Periods' and 'the sum of the periods ranging from last-14 till last-26'.

It would be great of course if I could also visualise evolutions from previous years and make it dynamic

Eg the difference between 'the sum of the periods ranging from last-14 till last-26' and 'the sum of the periods ranging from last-27 till last-39'.

And so on.

I'm completely new to Power BI so I have no idea if something like the above is possible and if my data is well structured to do this. Any help is highly appreciated 🙂

Bert

3 REPLIES 3
Abigail48
Regular Visitor

The table's layout makes it among the Best Router Table most portable tables you'll find, Router Table as well as while it may not be fancy.

v-jiascu-msft
Employee
Employee

Hi @bertjacobs,

Could you please mark the proper answer as solution?

Best Regards,

Dale

Community Support Team _ Dale
If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.
v-jiascu-msft
Employee
Employee

Hi Bert,

What is your original data? Based on your data here, you need a table like this:

Period           compare_period

2014-p01           1

2014-p02           1

...                        1

2014-p13           1

2015-p01           2

2015-p02           2

...                        2

2015-p13           2

... ...

Then we can compare the amount by "compare_period".

Could you provide a dummy sample pbix file? At least a sample in text mode.

Best Regards,

Dale