Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn a 50% discount on the DP-600 certification exam by completing the Fabric 30 Days to Learn It challenge.

PPStar
Helper IV
Helper IV

Basic Graph from SharePoint List

Hi . I am a newbie to Power BI. 

I have a SharePoint List which presents data as below

Content Type      | Title      |  Year | Jan | Feb | Mar                   | April ....... | Dec

Content Type A   | Title A  |  2022 | 12   | 5    | 536                   | 21
Content Type B   | Title B  | 2022  | xyz  | test | loreum ipsum | 134

The columns Jan to Dec are stored as Multiple Lines of Text as depending on what content type is selected, a user can enter numbers or just numbers and text

What i would like is to have a graph showing the month values for all content type a only. 

I have a dates table and i have created a relationship from Date from the dates table and Created By in the sharpeoint list. 

when i drag the month from the spo list to the y axis value, it seems to do a count of the month and then it stacks the value

For e.g. i need the graph to have months displayed at the bottom (x axis) in order from Jan to Dec, then the the y axis to display the value. 

Can someone please start me off. 

Thanks

2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS
lbendlin
Super User
Super User

Your data comes in as a wide table with ever increasing column count.  That is unfortunate and not something you want to do in Power BI.  First step is to unpivot your data to make it narrow, and with fixed column count.

You probably also want to change your month column to a more future proof yearmonth column. Usually you can use a date field (for example the first day of each month)  and then tie that into your calendar table.

View solution in original post

That's where the unpivoting comes in. It allows you to then do the transforms on a single column.

View solution in original post

9 REPLIES 9
PPStar
Helper IV
Helper IV