Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Adjusting x-axis by filtering datetime table by two event time stamps

Hello,

I'm a PBI beginner and enthousiast. I am looking for a way to filter a datetime table by means of two datetime stamps coming from another filtered table. I have multiple objects performing multiple sequential events all with a start time and stop time. In a separate table I have measurements on these objects. This measuremtent table has datetime stamps for a whole two days. However, I want my graph to filter the x-axis (= datetime) on the selection of the object, and subsequentially the subsets of events with a start time and stoptime. At the moment I'm using the Time Brush visual to manually filter my graphs, but I would like to do this automatically. Some hints would be Highly appreciated.

2020-10-07_22h49_09.png

2020-10-07_22h49_38.png

2020-10-07_22h49_57.png

3 REPLIES 3
MFelix
Super User
Super User

Hi @Anonymous ,

Not really sure if I understand your requirements but believe that you need to have a filtering based on the start and end times correct?

You need to create a dimension table for the dates / times and then make your measure accordingly to the values selected.

check this post that looks at creating the tables you need.

https://kohera.be/blog/power-bi/how-to-create-a-time-table-in-power-bi-in-a-few-simple-steps/

Regards

Miguel Félix

Did I answer your question? Mark my post as a solution!

Proud to be a Super User!

Check out my blog: Power BI em Português

Anonymous
Not applicable

Hello Miguel,

thank you for your reply. I already have a datetime table. See attached model.

2020-10-09_15h17_09.png