Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn a 50% discount on the DP-600 certification exam by completing the Fabric 30 Days to Learn It challenge.

yigitersann
Frequent Visitor

Reading the Dax Code Easily

Hi everyone,

First of all I am new to PBI.

I have a sample table including measures and report created from it.

For these measures, I'm trying to understand what exactly the code is doing for the sake of DAX practise. 

For example; I have this measure below;

Sales Last 6 Months = 
VAR maxDate = MAX(AllSales[Date])
VAR nValue = IF(MONTH(MAX(AllSales[Date]))=MONTH(TODAY()),0,1)
VAR Result = CALCULATE (
    SUM ( AllSales[Sales revenue] ),
    AllSales[Date]
        >= DATE ( YEAR ( maxDate ), MONTH ( maxDate ) - 6 + nValue, 1 )
        && AllSales[Date] < DATE ( YEAR ( maxDate ), MONTH ( maxDate ) + nValue, 1 )
)
RETURN Result

I want to understand what this DAX code do, but it's not very easy for me because there are lots of data in the table.

So what I have tried was, I entered some data (4-5 rows maximum) and created the same measure with correct necessary table/column names, but I think that's also not very good way because it depends on the DAX code I guess.

So would be glad if someone guide me on how to understand the DAX code of measures with lots of datas inside.

Or easy way for practising?

Thanks in advance

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

@yigitersann Commenting code is always a recommended best practice for all coding languages, including DAX. You can also use the Description metadata field to help document or explain your calculation as well.