Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

vaishali12
Frequent Visitor

Ranking and Count using DAX

Hi, 

I'm pretty new to DAX and have been trying to implement the following logic in a visual. The aim to have a rolling window of 7 countries , based on the ranking of a specific country that has been selected. 

I've included the logic that I've though of and how it would look like when the selected country changes. I'm tried playing around with DISTINCTCOUNT and SELECTEDVALUE but i'm not having much luck.  

If anyone here can point me in the right direction, that would be awesome. 

For ease of reference:

Count refers to the count of all distinct countries.

Ranking refers to  the ranking of the chosen country.

1st Rule:  If the Count <=  7, then include all the countries.

2nd Rule: If the Count > 7 and Ranking <= 4, include the top 7 countries

3rd Rule: If the Count > 7 and Ranking > (Count – 3), include the bottom 7 countries

4th Rule: Else, take (+/- 3 ) of the Ranking.

Chosen country

Country

AirWeight

Ranking

Italy

Greece

Norway

Germany

2nd Rule

Italy

2nd Rule

France

2nd Rule

United Kingdom

2nd Rule

Netherlands

2nd Rule

4th Rule

Spain

2nd Rule

4th Rule

Belgium + Luxembourg

2nd Rule

4th Rule

Norway

4th Rule

Switzerland

4th Rule

Sweden

4th Rule

Austria

4th Rule

Denmark

3rd Rule

Irish Republic

3rd Rule

Finland

3rd Rule

Portugal

3rd Rule

Greece

3rd Rule

Iceland

3rd Rule

Other Western Europe

3rd Rule

Guernsey

excluded as it has NULL AirWeight

Thanks!

7 REPLIES 7
Anonymous
Not applicable

Yeah... it's all good and can be done but... what is it that you want to calculate? Is it, for instance, for each country the average of AirWeight over the countries that you want to pick up through the rules?

Best

Darek

Hi @Anonymous ,