Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

ARU_
Advocate I
Advocate I

Not able to comprehend working of Rankx function in DAX

Hello,

I am quite new to DAX and still learning various aspects of this language. While working on contoso database, i wanted to compute rank based on category-wise sales, even if the granularity of the table is deeper than that.  

Following is the table i want to build. The granularity of this table is at Product code level while my computation supposedely should happen at a product category level.

ARU__2-1681198086728.png

My  understanding is that Rankx creates a lookup table by iterating an expression as the 2nd parameter and rank the lookup table values based on the order (ASC or DESC depending on 4th parameter). The 3rd parameter which is an expression gets evaluated as per the current row context. 

I created this following measure in order to arrive at the rank of the category sales

category wise ranking := RANKX(ALL('Product'[Category]), 
                CALCULATE(SUMX('Product',[Sales Amount])),  -- Invokes context transiiton
                [category wise sales])

the dependent measures are as follows :

category wise sales := CALCULATE(SUMX('Product', [Sales Amount]), ALLEXCEPT('Product','Product'[Category]))

Sales Amount := SUMX ( Sales, Sales[Quantity] * Sales[Net Price] )

This output gives me the ranking of "1" in all the rows of Power BI table as per the screenshot above. However, i expected it to give me the rank based on category wise sales. So "Music, Movies and Audio Books" category should have "8" as the rank, while "Home appliances" should carry a rank of "1"

I think the above DAX code works in steps given below :