Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn a 50% discount on the DP-600 certification exam by completing the Fabric 30 Days to Learn It challenge.

sjacksonlincs

How to get average per person from two measures

Hi,

I am relatively new to Power BI but am struggling with something that seems should be fairly straight forward...

I have two imported tables, one for 'Calls' and the other for 'Cash'.

I want to calculate the average cash collection by user which should be the total cash divided by number of calls taken.

On my cash table i have the measure: 

SumOfCash = CALCULATE(SUM(Cash[SumOfAmount £]))

On my calls table I have the measure:
SumOfCalls = CALCULATE(SUM(Telephony[Accepted]))

Now i want to create a new measure that takes the cash measure and divides it by the calls measure.

I have tried this with: 
AvgCashPerCall = CALCULATE(SUM(Cash[SumOfAmount £])/SUM(Telephony[Accepted])) which gives be an overall average total (which is correct) but when i create a table and in the users, the average per user shows as a very low decimilised number.

sjacksonlincs_0-1620818863141.png

Can someone advise me what i'm doing wrong please?

Thanks

2 REPLIES 2
sjacksonlincs

@Anonymous thank you.

I have re-written to your above suggestion but still not able to arrive at the expected individual averages.

As pictured, the £24.81 average is correct but the minute i add a table and try to do it by user, the averages for each user are substantially lower. 

sjacksonlincs_0-1620822948469.png

Anonymous
Not applicable

Your measure should be written as:

[AvgCashPerCall] = divide( [SumOfCash], [SumOfCalls] )

since code duplication is a the worst thing that can happen in programming.