Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

simonmcd
Frequent Visitor

Help with complex DAX measure

Hi everyone, 

I'm pretty new to Power Bi/DAX and jumping into the deep end. I've got a data set that comes from a device monitoring system and trying to work out the up time (total time the device is online) from a metric history alert table. This is the table which I have simplified in a visual as there's more data and too much to do a screen shot, it's filtered to show a single device. Unfortunately the data isn't reported as a heart beat and an event is only logged when it changes state where it gives the current state, previous state and duration from previous event to current event (in seconds). I then have an asset table which contains the name, id, location, etc and here is where I can using a measure to calculate the up time for each device. I believe I need to use measures as with calculated columns I'm not able to get the date slicer values. 

table.jpg

relationships.jpg

On my report I have a number of slicers where I can select a room, a device and finally a date slicer (as a slider) where I can select the begining and end date I want to get the uptime for each device. I have a couple of issues I need to resolve.