Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

tvaishnav
Helper IV
Helper IV

DAX error : A single value for column 'Date' in table 'Date' cannot be determined.

I am new to DAX and trying learn it. So I am essentially looking for an explanation as to what is causing the error.

Following formula works fine

AverageX = Averagex(
                   VALUES('Date'[Date]
                    )
                   ,Fact_Hours[SUM Hours]
                    )

However, if I remove the VALUES function, I end up with an error I mentioned in the title of this question

AverageX = Averagex(
                  'Date'[Date]
                    )
                   ,Fact_Hours[SUM Hours]
                    )

Date column in Date table has unique values already. Why is VALUES function needed? 

Also, for second argument to AVERAGEX, Measure works. But if I try to put a column that is already a part of model, it would not. Why would that be?

2 REPLIES 2
tamerj1
Super User
Super User

Hi @tvaishnav 

Iteration functions requires a table as first argument. VALUES is a function that creats a table contains the unique values in a column. You cannot refer the column directly. 
Iteration functions creat a filter context over the tablw under iteration. Only the columns that belongs to this table can be refrenced directly. Columns from related tables in the "one" side of the relationship can be referenced using RELATED function. The "many" side related table can be referenced using RELATEDTABLE functions which bring a set of rows from the "many" side table which are realted to the current row on the iteration. In this case an aggregation must be provided in order to evaluate any column from this related table.