Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

PowerBIKD
Regular Visitor

Cohort Analysis: Average Churn Rate

Hello,
I'm new to Power BI and got struck while performing cohort analysis on customer data and trying to calculate the average across same row from multiple columns. I couldn't find any solutions related to it. So to start, I have created a dummy table with generate series to use it in cohort analysis and finding customer's that are retained. Upon doing that I have following as an example:

PowerBIKD_0-1647516582397.png

Customers that are joined in Jan 2021 have retention rate of 96.4% for a month after. I have calculated month over month churn rate. My goal is to get the average churn rate for customers joined in January 2021 based on their churn rates in months after. For example: Average churn rate for customers joined in Jan 2021 = 0.46 + 15.53 + 16.48 / 3 = 10.82 per month.

In this way I can use it to calculate the lifetime of a customer based on the average churn rate for customers that have their first sales on specific month. Hope this is clear.

Could someone please guide them how to proceed? Thanks a lot in advance.

Kind regards,

Karthik

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
v-kkf-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @PowerBIKD ,

Please try the following formula:

Measure = 
IF (
    ISFILTERED ( 'Table'[Month After] ),
    [CustMoMChurn%],
    AVERAGEX (
        FILTER (
            SUMMARIZE (
                'Table',
                'Table'[Date],
                'Table'[Month After],
                "Cust", [CustMoMChurn%]
            ),
            [Cust] > 0
        ),
        [Cust]
    )
)

Screenshot 2022-03-21 152912.png