Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Russ99
Helper I
Helper I

Sharing reports

dear community 

I am relatively new to the power BI service and need some help regarding sharing reports.

my organisation wants to create a report that can be shared with a different organisation. The other organisation only have power bi free accounts and won't consider getting power bi pro.

if my organisation was to purchase a PPU license for myself, would I be able to create reports and share them with people with power bi free licenses.

I have tried to read as much as I could about the different licenses but remain confused. Any help is much appreciated.

best

russ

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
v-xiaoyan-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @Russ99 ,

Agree with @ibarrau and @Burningsuit ,

“Typically, the admin assigns the Pro licenses to the employees who will be creating and sharing content. The Pro users create workspace and add content (dashboards, reports, datasets, apps) to those workspaces. To allow free users to collaborate in those workspaces, the admin or Pro user then assigns the workspaces to a Premium capacity. ”

(Power BI Pro license is the license for user, and Power BI Premium License is the license for capacity)

A free user license for the Power BI service is perfect for someone exploring or using it for personal data analysis and visualizations using My workspace. A free standalone user isn't using Power BI to collaborate with colleagues. Standalone users with free licenses can't view content shared by others or share their own content with other Power BI users.