Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

DaxPadawan
Helper III
Helper III

Publishing a report with Amazon Athena connection

Hello all! 

I connected to Athena on Desktop using the Athena Connector, although that still did require me to install and set up ODBC (Simba Athena). I published the report to Service, when I try to schedule refreshes I get this error. 

DaxPadawan_0-1672726118938.png

So what do I need to do to have a live connection to Athena for my dataset on Service? I did read some previous forum posts, but I am still confused. I read that I may need a gateway, but I thought gateways were for on-premises data? Do let me know if you need any other information from me. This is my first time working with Power BI, I am feeling a little out of my depth. 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Sure. Amazon Athena is just a bridge to the source like Amazon S3 (data lake). The data is hosted at the AWS cloud. In order to work with PowerBi you need a driver and a gateway. If you install that in a local VM, you are getting data from cloud (aws) to on premise (local vm) and then to cloud again (PowerBi Service). That's a waist of time and processing. In order to keep it always on cloud you can use EC2. EC2 is the name AWS Services has picked for Virtual Machines on AWS Cloud. Installing the gateway there can help keeping the refresh clean and fast.

I hope that make sense,

If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.

Happy to help!

LaDataWeb Blog

View solution in original post

6 REPLIES 6
ibarrau
Super User
Super User