Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn a 50% discount on the DP-600 certification exam by completing the Fabric 30 Days to Learn It challenge.

Joe_Sharman
Frequent Visitor

Power Bi On Apple mac

Hi there,

Im a new analyst at my company and have started to look at data visualisation tools for my company. Most of the employees at the company use Apple laptops. I know this means we can not download Power Bi desktop. However, how well does the web version work? Can you link the online version to MySQL databases? Can you also share interactive reports with non-Power Bi users outside the company? I am trying to test this out on the free trial of Power Bi pro on web, although I can't see the option to link a MySQL database. 

Thanks

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
TomMartens
Super User
Super User

Hey @Joe_Sharman ,

Basically, all your questions can be answered with yes, but you need Power BI Desktop for report authoring.

At this point in time, the data modeling capabilities coming with Power BI Service are not on par with Power BI Desktop the same is valid for report design Desktop. Next to that, you need to create the dataset using Power BI Desktop, with Power BI Desktop you can select MySQL as data source, that feed the dataset.

I'm converted to a MBP M2 2 months ago, I love the machine for many reasons. I use Power BI Desktop in combination with Parallels Pro, becaues I want to assign more than 8GB of RAM to the virtual Windows Machine.

Hopefully, this helps to make your decision.

Regards,
Tom

Did I answer your question? Mark my post as a solution, this will help others!

Proud to be a Super User!
I accept Kudos 😉
Hamburg, Germany

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5
sergej_og
Super User
Super User

Hi @Joe_Sharman ,
in our company we also partly use mac. since a few weeks me as well.
I use a remote VM to develop datamodels in PBI Desktop.