Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Off2w0rk

Planning of Power BI portal vs Sharepoint

Hi all,

im pretty new to power Bi, but fell in love with it recently. Usually my daily work is to manage Skype,Exchange and Office365. I have some Sharepoint Online experience, but lack of Power  BI.

I plan to setup Power BI in our company but dont know where to start.

There seems to be an own template for Power Bi in Sharepoint Online. There we can upload Power Bi files and connect to power Bi portal.

In power Bi portal, you can only upload files but not download?Its only used for show cases?

Is it ment to use Sharepoint/One drive for storage instead?

Is is best practise to have own server dedicated for Power Bi reporting?

What is recommended and not recommended?

thanks!

3 REPLIES 3
Greg_Deckler
Super User
Super User

@Off2w0rk - I'm not sure to what you are referring when you say "template for Power BI in SharePoint Online", can you elaborate? There is the Enterprise | Business Intelligence Center site template and the old O365 Power BI site (which I understand is being retired soon).

In Power BI Service, you can upload datasets or connect to files stored in SharePoint Online or OneDrive. You are correct in that currently once you upload a dataset, you cannot download it, only refresh it. If you load up an Excel file or PBIX in SharePoint Online or OneDrive, you can use "Connect" and then you can use the data in the Power BI Service but still be able to download the raw data from SharePoint or OneDrive.

Currently, Power BI reporting is really done through the Service, a cloud SaaS portal. This is changing in SQL 2016 SSRS, there will essentially be an on-premises publishing point for Power BI.