Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

j_ocean
Helper V
Helper V

Forcibly Revoking all Link Shares to a Dataset

When someone shares a report using the share button and leaving it on defaults, it adds a link sharing record to both the report and dataset. 

When I try to revoke a link, if I delete it from the dataset it remains on the report and access remains. If I delete it from the report, it goes away at both levels. With many reports per dataset this is a pain.

Another problem I have is that many of those reports are in personal "My Workspace" areas. No matter what I do the link keeps working. 

How do I forcibly close all links to my dataset? I'm a workspace admin and the dataset owner. Or, conversely, are the links working for me *because* I'm a workspace admin and would have access to the underlying dataset anyway, even if the report is in someone else's My Workspace?

2 REPLIES 2
GilbertQ
Super User
Super User

Hi @j_ocean 

What I recommend is to only share reports/dashboards via Apps. This allows for better control of who can see what and to change access.

I do think because you are the owner in My Workspace as you alluded to you will always to see the link. What you could do is give the link to someone who does not have access and see if it works for them.

Did I answer your question? Mark my post as a solution!

Proud to be a Super User!

Power BI Blog

What I recommend is to only share reports/dashboards via Apps

Unfortunately that's not a solution here; sharing to users via apps is the SOP as-architected, but it's the people who build the reports who keep hitting that share button despite multiple guidances released to knock it off.

We can't boot them from the workspace because then they couldn't create reports.