Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn a 50% discount on the DP-600 certification exam by completing the Fabric 30 Days to Learn It challenge.

rcallahan

Creating calculations in Power BI with insightly data

Hi, I'm brand new to Power BI and am still learning what I can do. I've connected to insightly, mailchimp and Google Analytics and have the premade dashboards, which is great. But, now, I'd like to create my own reports. I can filter data in the Power BI app but am I able to create calculations in there? For example, I'd like to know the difference between two fields: Date_Created and Forecast_Close_Date (both from insightly) so I have a better understanding of how long it takes my sales team to close an Opportunity. I can't do it in Desktop because insightly isn't available there yet - how would I do it in the app?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

@rcallahan In short "yes", Content Packs in the Service are for quick wins, and won't allow you to customize anything.

If the Content Pack is a data source in the PBI Desktop, then you could extend the model there.

If there is another way to access the data source (ODATA or ODBC for example) then you could connet that way.

But in both those cases, you lose the "Model" that has been built for the Service Content Pack.

Looking for more Power BI tips, tricks & tools? Check out PowerBI.tips the site I co-own with Mike Carlo. Also, if you are near SE WI? Join our PUG Milwaukee Brew City PUG

View solution in original post

6 REPLIES 6
QueryWhiz
Helper V
Helper V

@rcallahan You can connect insightly data directly to PBI desktop using an external connector because no native connector is available and I think it won't be available soon. I use windsor.ai to connect my insightly data and it works fine as a direct option

v-ljerr-msft
Employee
Employee

Hi @rcallahan,