Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn a 50% discount on the DP-600 certification exam by completing the Fabric 30 Days to Learn It challenge.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Bug in Report Builder

Hi,

I'm new to report builder and just found this article when trying to sort out a format issue at runtime:
https://learn.microsoft.com/en-us/sql/reporting-services/report-design/rendering-report-items-report...

This is not working correctly because it Paginated reports doesn't understand what "Overlap" is.
I have two separate items on the page, a table on the right and a chart on the left, there is no overlap because the chart has a fixed size and therefore can't spill over the table.
When the report is run, the chart - which is supposed to be on the same page as the table - gets pushed off to below the end of the table even though there is no overlap between the two.
Report Builder should be using something like this algorithm at rendering time once it's figured out the display sizes and positions of the report components:
Item1vPos = item1.top + item1.height;
Item1hPos = item1.left+item1.width;
 if (Item1vpos >= item2.top and Item1vpos<= item2.top+item2.height) then (vOverlap)=true;
 if (Item1hpos >= item2.left and Item1hpos<= item2.left+item2.width) then (hvOverlap)=true;
Overlap = vOverlap && hOverlap 
There should also be an option to turn off overlap detection because it's breaking my report and I'm not the only person who's had problems with it.
It would be even better if it were possible to use a layout "table" like you might in HTML to fix this issue.

I'd really like to see this as a feature because it would take the product forward in leaps and bounds to have a predictable layout.

Apologies to your ears,

The Cognosaur.

2 REPLIES 2
d_gosbell
Super User
Super User