Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Andre-V
Regular Visitor

Wonderware Historian Database

Hi all 

I am new to PBI and doing some tests to connect to a Wonderware Historian Database.

So far the direct Query works for some test tags!

If I need to pull in +/- 10000 Tags with a per second history (60*60*24 = 86400 data points /Tag/Day) this would be 315 Billion data point per Year for 10K tags. 

Is the direct Query the best way and how do I refresh (update) the history to the current time?

The second question is with the PowerBI Gateway I connect this to PBI Cloud. how is the bandwidth affected with large data? 

Has anyone done Wonderware Historian or process Historian integration like OSIsoft PI or Wonderware eDNA?

Thank you

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

@Andre-V,

In Power BI Service, it is not possible to store historical data. However, in Power BI Deskop, you can store historical data, for more details, please review the following thread.

http://community.powerbi.com/t5/Desktop/Storing-and-using-information-from-a-dynamic-data-source-usi...

Regards,
Lydia

Community Support Team _ Lydia Zhang
If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5

Hi @Andre-V , 
This is quite an old post but in case you're still looking to connect any historians check this out

https://community.powerbi.com/t5/Community-Blog/Connecting-industrial-historians-to-Microsoft-Power-...

Hope this helps.

v-yuezhe-msft
Employee
Employee

@Andre-V,