Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn a 50% discount on the DP-600 certification exam by completing the Fabric 30 Days to Learn It challenge.

thassan77
Frequent Visitor

Replace value based on Conditions from multiple columns

Hello, I am new to Power Query.

I have a table where I want to replace values of a column based on the conditions or values from Multiple columns.

I.e. If ColumnA="CVL" or "PVL" and ColumnB= "Retailer" then change the value in ColumnC to "Consumer" else reamin as it is. 

Please suggest how to do it or M code for this condition.

Appreciate your help.

2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS

@thassan77 ,
In Power Query go to option Add Column > Custom Column and add formula like this:
New Column =
if [Store Id] = 1 and [Item Id] = 1 then 1 else
if [Store Id] = 2 and [Item Id] = 2 then 2 else
if [Store Id] = 3 and [Item Id] = 3 then 3 else 0

You can have as many rules as you want and you can also and OR statement instead of AND. So everything allowed.
If you do not have combinations of rules (using multiple columns for one rule) you can choose option Add Column > Conditional Column and easy interface will guide you through the process.

View solution in original post

dax
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @thassan77 , 

You could try below M code 

let
    Source = Table.FromRows(Json.Document(Binary.Decompress(Binary.FromText("i45WclTSUQoJARKBSrE60UpOQJa7O5AIB3OdgSw3NyDhCua6AFkeHnDFcL3hcL1gLlBxLAA=", BinaryEncoding.Base64), Compression.Deflate)), let _t = ((type text) meta [Serialized.Text = true]) in type table [Column1 = _t, Column2 = _t, Column3 = _t]),
    #"Changed Type" = Table.TransformColumnTypes(Source,{{"Column1", type text}, {"Column2", type text}, {"Column3", type text}}),
    Custom1 = Table.ReplaceValue(#"Changed Type", each [Column3], each if ([Column1]="A" or [Column1]="B") and [Column2]="TT" then "change" else [Column3], Replacer.ReplaceValue, {"Column3"})
in
    Custom1