Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

rotalwar
Frequent Visitor

Power query to connect to localserver

Hi

I am new to any such community help - thanks in advance if there's someone who knows about connecting to a localserver instance.

specifically, I am trying to connect to an authenticated local instance of my connection to endpoints that interactive brokers provide. I start their service, using credentials provided. I can then connect to their DB/Endpoints via links for example:

https://localhost:5000/v1/api/trsrv/secdef/schedule?assetClass=STK&symbol=MSFT to get security information. I have set up a postman account, to get some familiarity with the HTTP request (GET, and at some stage POST).

I get a response with postman, which for all intents and purposes appears complete and valid.

in excel power query I get some SSL/TLS secure channel error:

rotalwar_0-1645599144999.png

All other "queries" i have tried, which are standard ones from IB, seem to work (in a browser, when I allow  "Access control allow origin" via a chrome extension.

Is there anyone out there that may be able to help me troubleshoot the connection. Ultimately I would like this within Power Query within Power BI, but just trying it out on the Excel version.

5 REPLIES 5
rotalwar
Frequent Visitor

Hi

I found what seems a solution. I created a local certificate using a java based keytool, and point the gateway config to that cert (locally).

Then, under the covers, there must be some interchange with PQ (in Excel), and the various security methods embedded, to check SSL/TLS, which seems to meet it's [PQ] validity/security requirements. This then allows PQ to retrieve successfully. I have a little more work to do to understand this, as SSL is not something I have familiarity with, including any authentication.