Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

PQ Returns "Null" Rows from Dataverse Table '[Note], Column 'DocumentBody' containing Base64

Hi, I have PowerApps exported the built-in Table [Note] to CSV and can render the Column 'DocumentBody' Base64 Text to an Image.

However when I connect to Dataverse [Note] using Power Query the Column 'DocumentBody' = "Null" on every Row.

The 'DocumentBody' Rows do not contain large files <1mb

Im new to all this, whats going on? How do I get to the base64 Row data within Power Query?

Thanks

Jonathan

Screenshot 2022-05-04 222301.jpgScreenshot 2022-05-04 222513.jpg

6 REPLIES 6
mit579

Hi Jonathan - 

Did you managed to solve this, we are also facing the same issue

After some deliberation MS confirmed it is by Design (doesnt work).
Its been a while since I was here, Dataverse now includes FILE and IMAGE Types, including in Teams, which function reasonably well, so recommend this path and avoid the Builtin Tables.

Thanks Jonathan but Dynamics uses this table internally and store images in documentbody colum. How to manage this?

Hi Jing,

"Text Area" is the data type.

Power Bi Desktop / CDS / Dataverse / DefaultOrg.Dymamics.com / [annotation]

1) Import Mode

Result:

Screenshot 2022-05-09 093244.png

2) Query Mode

Result:

Screenshot 2022-05-09 094844.png

3) Power Bi ONLINE / New Dataset / Dataflow / Define New Tables / Dataverse / DefaultOrg.dynamics.com / [annotation]

Result:

Screenshot 2022-05-09 100006.png

Thus from every direction, PowerQuery is unable to return the row values from Builtin (Microsoft Managed) Table [annotation] column 'documentbody'