Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn a 50% discount on the DP-600 certification exam by completing the Fabric 30 Days to Learn It challenge.

lornafnb
Helper I
Helper I

Multiple date formats in column

Good day - my first post on the Forum! :)-

I'm reading from an Excel file, and the format of the date column is either 2021/11/08, or March '22 (in this case, it can default to 2022/11/01).

I suppose I could manually standardize/update it, as it is not a large file, but I would like to get to know it in code.

All help appreciated - please keep in mind I'm a beginner.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Leave everything, in a custom column put this. That's it. 

= Date.From(if Text.Contains(Text.From([Live date]),"'") then "1"&Text.Replace([Live date],"'","") else [Live date])

If you want to convert this column to a date, select column - Transform tab - Detect data type

View solution in original post

15 REPLIES 15
watkinnc
Super User
Super User

Have you tried selecting the column and clicking Parse Date under the Transform-Date option? Or a custom column using Date.FromText?

--Nate

I’m usually answering from my phone, which means the results are visualized only in my mind. You’ll need to use my answer to know that it works—but it will work!!
Vijay_A_Verma
Super User
Super User

Since you are beginner, I will suggest that you insert a new custom column and put following formula where [Date] needs to be replaced with your column

= Date.From(if Text.Contains([Date],"'") then "1"&Text.Replace([Date],"'","") else [Date])

If you want to do in place column replacement, then insert following statement where Source needs to be replaced with your previous step.

= Table.ReplaceValue(Source,each [Date],each Date.From(if Text.Contains([Date],"'") then "1"&Text.Replace([Date],"'","") else [Date]),Replacer.ReplaceValue,{"Date"})