Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Anonymous
Not applicable

How to change the source path when using the folder option in Get Data

Hello, 

I am new to Power BI and have been building a dataset using the 'Folder' option (i.e. multiple .csv files are combined to create one file in power query). I now want to give someone else the capacity to use this pbix file. Because the original sources referenced a personalized path (see below), I don't seem to be able to make the transfer. 

= Source{[#"Folder Path"="C:\Users\emily.newell\Travelopia USA Inc\Quark Marketing - Documents\Reporting\Website Wistia\",Name="201806 - 201906 Wistia Stats - Videos.csv"]}[Content]

I have tried [Change Sources] and received an error in the 'Sample Query' that is a part of the Transform File step. I then adjusted those folder paths as well, but have still received an error. 

Would love suggestions. 

Many thanks!

5 REPLIES 5
kcantor
Community Champion
Community Champion

@Anonymous 

Can you provide the new path you wish to transfer to?

Did I answer your question? Mark my post as a solution!

Proud to be a Super User!

Anonymous
Not applicable

Sure can: 

FROM: C:\Users\emily.newell\Travelopia USA Inc\Quark Marketing - Documents\Reporting\Website Wistia\

assuming sample file of: "201806 - 201906 Wistia Stats - Videos.csv"

TO: C:\Users\nicolas.singh\Travelopia USA Inc\Quark Marketing - Documents\Reporting\Website Wistia\

assuming the same sample file.

Alternatively, could I transfer the entire process to look at a GoogleDrive folder, rather than a local folder? 

I can't use a sharepoint folder because of the way in which our internal sharepoint permissions are setup. I receive an error. 

Thanks!