Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn a 50% discount on the DP-600 certification exam by completing the Fabric 30 Days to Learn It challenge.

unnipbi123
Helper II
Helper II

How to bring the AWS costs into Power BI

Hello all,

I am completely new to AWS. Just wanted to know how we can bring the Cost from the AWS server to power BI desktop.

we have cost data such as EC2, S3,RDBMS, Search and etc in Power BI. we are currently pulling the data from AWS manually and update it to CSV file to get into power BI. is there a way we can connect directly to AWS to get these cost details in Power BI?

Please help.

7 REPLIES 7
francesco_beqom
Frequent Visitor

Hello @MAwwad , I don't see Amazon Web Services not even in the Appendix: Microsoft Power BI supported AWS data sources you provided. 
So do I have to create a connector for AWS? 

MAwwad
Super User
Super User

es, it is possible to connect Power BI directly to your AWS account to retrieve cost data. Here's one way you can do it:

1. In Power BI Desktop, select "Get Data" from the Home ribbon and then select "Amazon Web Services" as the data source.

2. In the "Connect to Amazon Web Services" dialog, enter your AWS access key and secret key, and then click "Connect".

3. In the "Amazon Web Services" dialog, select the "Cost and Usage" option from the list of available datasets.

4. Click "Load" to load the cost data into Power BI.

5. In the Query Editor, you can use the "Transform" tab of the ribbon to shape and manipulate the data as needed.

6. When you are finished, click "Close & Apply" in the Query Editor to load the data into the Power BI data model.

This will allow you to connect directly to your AWS account and retrieve cost data in real-time, without the need to manually update a CSV file.

There is no  "Connect to Amazon Web Services" dialog in Power BI

Has anyone figured this out.  I'm not seeing "Amazon Web Services" as a data source