Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Grow your Fabric skills and prepare for the DP-600 certification exam by completing the latest Microsoft Fabric challenge.

WLou
Helper I
Helper I

File & Data source location recommendation

Hi all, 

What's the best practice for file location and source data location I'm new to the orgnasation and novice to PBI so hopefully can get some answers from you.

I have few excel files to share around which has data connected to few local folders (not much data and can easily move around) 

The organisation has pretty much everything saved on Sharepoint, though the local shared drive is still availble but unless that's the only option they do not like that idea. 

So far I have tried to upload source data to sharepoint and reset the path, it seems taking very very long time to refreah; in the past I would defenitely set everything in share drvie where people can access

Question: 

What's the best practice for file location and source data location in this senario? 

Thanks in advance 

Wendy

2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS
Jimmy801
Community Champion
Community Champion

Hello @WLou 

we have a similar situation in our company. You have to differenciate if the person using the report need only to watch it or if they need also to update it. 

If they only need to watch it, it doesn't matter were you stored the file, as long as the people that have to refresh the data have access. If you everyone also needs to refresh it, choose the infrastructure available in your company (shared folder, sharepoint). This is more a decision of your admin because of authorizations issues for every platform.

Hope this helps

Jimmy

View solution in original post

Not sure why .Files would work and .Contents would not. Are you using SharePoint online or is it on prem? Your URL seems to indicate online, but you only have one namespace after the .com. I have to have two - /sites/SiteName