Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn a 50% discount on the DP-600 certification exam by completing the Fabric 30 Days to Learn It challenge.

iainh
Frequent Visitor

Creating a reporting group column in Power Query

Hi all 

Recently I've started to go over some reports I created when I started learning to use power query / powerbi. Whilst I can see the improvements in my capabilities I am by no means 'there' yet, hence why I'm coming to you guys for potential help / ideas! 

Long story short I have a task based data set. Within this data I need to create a column to add a reporting group based on the task name so I can then pivot the dates against these report groups for each associated project. The reporting groups are contained within another spreadsheet (to try and make it easier to maintain for my colleagues). 

Task list data set:

Project Number Task NameForecasted Date

Step 1 (old name)01/04/2023
1001Step 2 01/06/2023
1001Step 2a 02/06/2023
1002Step 1 (new name)01/05/2023
1002Step 2 (new name)01/07/2023

Reporting groups:

Task NameReporting Group
Step 1 (old name)Step 1
Step 1 (new name)Step 1

Step 2 (old name)

Step 2

Step 2 (new name)

Step 2

Step 2a 

Step 3

Desired results:

Project Number Task NameForecasted DateReporting Group

Step 1 (old name)01/04/2023Step 1
1001Step 2 (old name)01/06/2023Step 2
1001Step 2a 02/06/2023Step 3
1002Step 1 (new name)01/05/2023Step 1
1002Step 2 (new name)01/07/2023Step 2

At the moment this achieved via hard coded with if and else statements when the column is created. However this is highly undesirable for future use, I dont want my colleagues having to enter in the Power Query editor to change something and reduce the system demands etc

This (the Desired Results table) is then pivoted so show the following:

Project Number Step 1Step 2Step 3 

01/04/202301/06/202302/06/2023
100201/05/202301/07/2023 

Any help would be greatly appericated!

Thanks 

Iain