Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Add new calculated column with values from 2 tables (Power Query)

Hello all, 

I'm really new to Power BI and Power Query and I am now struggling with the following:

Imagine we have Table1 and Table2, which can link by the column "Name":

Table1
NameProduced Meters
example 1  100
example 2  200

Table2
NameRun Time
example 1  10
example 2  10

Now I want to calculate in Table2 the "Run Speed" which is "Produced Meters" divided by "Run Time" for each matching row so that the result is the following:

Table2 - after step 
NameRun TimeRun Speed
example 11010
example 21020

How can I do this in only one step??

I have obtained the desired result in more than one step with following code, by adding first the "Produced Meters" column to Table :

#"Add Produced Meters on Table2" = Table.AddColumn(#"Previous Step","Produced Meters",

(x) => Table.First(Table.SelectRows(Table1, each Text.StartsWith(x[Name], [Name])))[Produced Meters], type number)

in 

#"Add Produced Meters on Table2"

And then I can divide by the Run Time of Table 2 and I obtain Run Speed as supposed. 

But how can I do this without adding the "Produced Meters" column first and instead do the calculation right away? I've tried the following code which returns a error:

#"Calculate Run Speed on Table2" = Table.AddColumn(#"Previous Step","Run Speed",

(x) => Table.First(Table.SelectRows(Table1, each Text.StartsWith(x[Name], [Name])))[Produced Meters]/[Run Time], type number)

in 

#"Calculate Run Speed on Table2"

Sorry if this is a bit pedantic but I really want to understand better this for future occasions.

Big thanks in advance for any help!!!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
BA_Pete
Super User
Super User

Hi @Anonymous ,

Try adding this as a new custom column in Table2: