Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

LeboeufHarry
Helper I
Helper I

Custom Visual Web Page

Hello,

I would like to create a Visual that just displays a web-page. The Url would be data driven.

As I'm a complkete TypeScript newbie I would first like to inform if this would be possible ?

Kind regards, Harry

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
dm-p
Super User
Super User

Hi @LeboeufHarry,

Custom visuals are themselves hosted in a iframe. The only sandbox attribute set is allow-scripts, so custom visuals are not very permissive.

In order to embed a web page, you'll need to add an additional iframe element to your visual and then its src attribute would need to be the data-driven URL. You'll therefore need to consider:

1. Whether your intended URL can be embedded in an iframe to begin with.
    • Some websites or web apps explicitly block this cross-domain (using an X-Frame-Options setting on their side of things). If the web site is hosted or managed by yourself then you can probably manage this appropriately.
    • If this is the case then you won't be able to use a custom visual.
  2. If #1 works, then you will need to see if hosting that iframe in a sandboxed iframe (the custom visual container) still works, as:
    • The sandboxing permissions applied to it may have downstream effects.
    • The sandboxing removes the domain from the custom visual iframe so that it does not belong to powerbi.com.