Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn a 50% discount on the DP-600 certification exam by completing the Fabric 30 Days to Learn It challenge.

ssingleton

sum up the man hours spent working from 5 different tables with different dates grouped together

I am new to power bi and tried to search for a similar issues but was unsuccessful. 

I have 5 different tables of data. Each of the 5 tables has a "date" column, and to "man hours" column, and others. Table A may have entries for everyday, table B may have entries every other day, table C may have entries for every 3rd day...

When I graph them with a line graph individually and group the dates into bins for each month I get very nice graphs. However if i try to put more than one of the tables together it sums all the man hours (from the second table that i try to add) into one total and I get the same total of man hours for each month (it shows a flat line). The same thing happens to the "man hours" no mater which is the 2nd, 3rd, 4th or 5th table to be inserted. Can anyone help me with this?  Thanks

sample man hours.png

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
v-yulgu-msft
Employee
Employee

Hi @ssingleton,

Two options for your reference.

Option1

Create a date dimention table that lists continual date values. Create one to many relationship from this dimention table to the other five tables. Group the dates into bins based on the date field of dimention table. And add it to chart axis.

Option2 

When I graph them with a line graph individually and group the dates into bins for each month I get very nice graphs. However if i try to put more than one of the tables together it sums all the man hours (from the second table that i try to add) into one total and I get the same total of man hours for each month (it shows a flat line). The same thing happens to the "man hours" no mater which is the 2nd, 3rd, 4th or 5th table to be inserted. Can anyone help me with this?  Thanks