Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

PeterGarant
Helper I
Helper I

Utilization rate

Hi all

I'm still pretty new to Power BI, so there might be a very simple solution for my problem.

I'm trying to calculate the utilization rate of some of our items. I've made it so that it takes into account how old the item is (Shouldn't count all days in a year, if it was created later in that year).

Right now I'm just looking at one item group from 2016, but one of those items is created in 2017 and is giving me some problems. I could just take it out of the dataset, but I would love to be able to get all the data out so that I can make the report more dynamic at a later date.

Here is what I have at the moment:

image.png

The top table shows it for the item group and the bottom for each item in the group. If i remove the item with negative age, then it all seems fine. Here is the measure that I'm using to calculate the utilization rate:

Utilization rate = Sum (Turnover[Rent days])/(DISTINCTCOUNT(Items[Itemnumber])* if (DISTINCTCOUNT('Date'[Date])>Items[Age];Items[Age];DISTINCTCOUNT('Date'[Date])))

The problem is that I would like to filter out the one with the negative age, but without removing it from the data. If I just filter it out in the item table, then it's fine, but it is still calculated in the item group table and I can't filter it out in the same way without it just going blank.

If I filter out the item that is making the problems then I get the following:image.png

The problem I have in my current measure is that in the total it will always use 366 days (2016 was a leap year), but 3 of the items should actually be calculated from their actual age wich is 337 days.

So what I am asking is