Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

PowerBi_18
Frequent Visitor

Using two smart filters

Hello there, apologies if this is a simple question, I am new to DAX and Power Bi. The purpose of my code is to show gross profit. I have three filters on the dashboard, which should adjust the gross profit readings. When the filters are applied individually, the gross profit is adjusted correctly. However, when using multiple filters, the original gross profit is calculated (with no filters).  

New GP = VAR SelectedPersonsGP = CALCULATE(CALCULATE(SUM(Append1[Gross Profit]),ALL(Append1[TLDESC ])),ALLSELECTED(Append1[Person]))

VAR NonSelectedPersons = CALCULATE(SUM(Append1[Gross Profit]),ALL(Append1[Person]),ALL(Append1[TLDESC ]))

VAR PersonFilter = IF(ISFILTERED(Append1[Person]),NonSelectedPersons-SelectedPersonsGP,NonSelectedPersons)

VAR SpecificFilter = IF(ISFILTERED(Append1[TLDESC ]),CALCULATE([One Off Expenses],ALL(Append1[Person])))

VAR NewGP = PersonFilter+SpecificFilter

RETURN
NewGP 

Any help is appreciated, many thanks. 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

check out this thread

https://community.powerbi.com/t5/Desktop/or-logic-slicer/m-p/460738
solution I posted there involves creating new tables, but there is also link to SQLBI article on the matter
https://www.sqlbi.com/articles/using-or-conditions-between-slicers-in-dax/

Did I answer your question? Mark my post as a solution!
Thank you for the kudos 🙂

View solution in original post

6 REPLIES 6
Stachu
Community Champion
Community Champion

can you share the sample from Append1 table?
is NonSelectedPersons supposed to show all sales rather than sales for non selected? I must say I find the naming quite confusing when comparing with syntax
what is in Append1[TLDESC ] and why it requires ALL criteria?