Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn a 50% discount on the DP-600 certification exam by completing the Fabric 30 Days to Learn It challenge.

MissMintox
Helper I
Helper I

Unable to set refresh for Web anonymous connection in Power bi Server

I'm relatively new to the Power bi and my problem is:

I was able to connect and refresh the data connection as anonymous from a Web connection in Power Bi Desktop.

However when I am trying to schedule the refresh to the same report on Power BI Server, it is returning me the following error.

Why is that? How can I fix it?

Capture.PNG

12 REPLIES 12
Bjuu
Frequent Visitor

Hey there,

I'm dealing with the same issue right now and stumbled over your post. I'm connecting to a public Website and can't set up a scheduled refresh in the PowerBI Service. Anonymous Credentials are used and the Refresh in PowerBI Desktops works fine. PowerBI Service is telling me, i have to provide credentials for that datasource and that i have to use a gateway. Wich i really don't understand, it's a public reachable website. Everybody can go to that site and have look. 

I only need that data from that website, to merge the values with a table from a Azure SQL-Database. As soon as I import data from that website and do my transformations and so on, I can't set up a scheduled refresh.

Doe's anybody has an idea?

Kind regards

Bjuu

Hi @Bjuu

Found a simple workaround for this:

I changed my anonymous to "basic" connection on power bi desktop and passed the API key as the username (left password blank).

But make sure you get rid of API key in your advanced editor if you did set one.

I followed the same "basic" connection when logging on to the power bi service (passed API key as the username) and it worked!

Hope this helps. Any queries, let me know.

I'm confused what API key to use when this is anonymous to a public website though?

v-piga-msft
Resident Rockstar
Resident Rockstar