Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

lshelton
Frequent Visitor

Tracking Growth on Changing Exchange Data

Greetings all,

I am pretty new to Power BI, and I was looking for assistance with a solution we developed for a client.  They were looking for a way to track Exchange meeting categories for employee professional development.  Basically, they want visualizations and data about how many of their meetings were categorized in a certain way.  I achieved this by importing data from Exchange including the Category column, and creating a Duration column by subtracting the End from the Start. 

If it matters, I also added two measures, one for a sum of the categorized meetings, and one for that sum to be subtracted from the number of hours in a work week or month, so that they could compare time spent in those categories versus time not spent in those categories.

The client is additionally looking for a way to track this data longitudinally.  Keep in mind, this needs to be a relatively simple solution since we are asking their employees to do it for themselves, but this is a pbix file that they will refresh and re-filter each month, so I'm not sure of the best way to be able to track and show that data.

Including a screenshot of the sample visualizations and the Power Query table, filtered to show just this month.  Please let me know if I need to provide more information - as I said, I'm new to this - and I appreciate any assistance in advance!

PowerBI1.pngPowerBI2.png

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
V-lianl-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @lshelton ,

Based on your description, you need to create a disconnected calendar table as a slicer, and then create a measure to show the differences of the previous months.

Here is a sample .pbix

Best Regards,
Liang