Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn a 50% discount on the DP-600 certification exam by completing the Fabric 30 Days to Learn It challenge.

QuintinC
Frequent Visitor

Show Growth or Difference and not totals in my Graphs

After using this amazing forum, books, Reddit and Discord making a lot of progress on my current work project as a total newbie. I am currently stuck on a specific issue! I was able to manipluate all my data in power query so I can easy access over 60 different Excel files and it's very clean data now.

Now the issue is making that data work the way it's meant to be. Growth Trends and not Totals. Which is what is currently defaulting as I am obviously not setting it up right. I have 3 years worth of data with 12 months in each year. Power Query for the win! My current issue is when I create graphs It combines the months for each grouping as if they are a total sales report. I am doing a Membership Growth Trend and combining my numbers blows up my entire report. 

As an example, a specific group has 40 people for 4 months but no gains then it would be 40 for each month. However if I show the growth of a year it totals those. Thinking the 40 is 40 new people..... But I do need the solid numbers to show how many we gained for all my groups in a specific month.

How do I control this and make sure it's easy to work with? I assume I could make an entire new system using power query but I hope there is a different way because I already have to transform and manipulate a lot of data to get it clean as it's a raw report and that seems like a rabbit hole.  
And because of that none of my Membership Trends are actually correct Please help so this poor soul can sleep again and not have to worry about work deadlines. While I'm mostly doing Line Graphs here is a more easily understandable representation of my issue.

unknown (1).png