Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Oz
Regular Visitor

Report security: Viewers to only see report content they have access to

Good morning all.  I'm new to Power BI and really hoping you can help me to understand security around Power BI reports, in particular not exposing data which the report viewer doesn't have access to.

Here's the scenario:

• We've built a Power BI report which uses data from a SharePoint list.
  • The SharePoint List contains a folder for each project.
  • All list items are inside the folder for the project to which they relate.
  • Project team members can only access folders for projects they're working on, not any others.
  • Senior management and our Programme Management Office (PMO) can access all folders.

What I'd like to do:

• Have a single Power BI report which can be shared with everyone in the organisation.
  • Have a filter (slicer) on the report to allow users to select an individual project.
  • Senior management & PMO to be able to see the results for all projects.
  • Individual project team members to only be able to see results for project folders they have access to.

I've already built the report and it looks exactly how I want it to.  However, when I share it, others see what I see, even if they don't have access to all the folders.

I'm sure this is possible, but there's numerous options when setting up the security and authentication so I want to make sure I understand how they work and how to get the report to function as required.  I really hope that you can all help as this will make project reporting so much quicker and easier.  Thanks, Oz

2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS
Sumanth_23
Memorable Member
Memorable Member

hi @Oz - There are 2 approaches to solving this - both using RLS