Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

hamwagon11
Regular Visitor

Reforming table and averaging multiple values for plotting

I'm a bit new to DAX but I'm quickly learning. However, I'm sort of stuck here. I've attached my pbix file with the raw data in case you guys are able to help me.

I've simplified the problem down into "widgets." There are multiple measurements for each "widget" taken along the length of the widget and I want to average the multiple measurements then plot the average value. The picture below shows what I'm trying to form the table into and then how I'd plot it. 

So I basically need a table where the widgets run along one axis and the measurement points run along the other axis. Inside each cell is the average of all measurements for that widget at that location. New widgets should be added to the end of the able. New measurement locations will have to be hard-coded since the column names are strings.

.pbix file with data loaded here: https://www.dropbox.com/s/qi7ajoh7hif5wrd/Widget%20Test.pbix?dl=0

Widget Example.png

7 REPLIES 7
v-eqin-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @hamwagon11 ,

You could use the following formula to create a calculated table:

Table =
VAR _t =
    UNION (
        SELECTCOLUMNS (
            'Widgets',
            "Widgets", 'Widgets'[Widget],
            "d@At", "10",
            "Values", 'Widgets'[d@10cm]
        ),
        SELECTCOLUMNS (
            'Widgets',
            "d@At", "20",
            "Values", 'Widgets'[d@20cm]
        ),
        SELECTCOLUMNS (
            'Widgets',
            "d@At", "30",
            "Values", 'Widgets'[d@30cm]
        ),
        SELECTCOLUMNS (
            'Widgets',
            "d@At", "40",
            "Values", 'Widgets'[d@40cm]
        )
    )
RETURN