Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn a 50% discount on the DP-600 certification exam by completing the Fabric 30 Days to Learn It challenge.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Power BI service live connected dataset states desktop .pbix is "corrupt" or "invalid report file"

Hello

This is my first time posting, so I hope I have posted my question in the correct area.

I am having issues re-opening a .pbix file in desktop. The .pbix is live connected to a dataset (as described in the Microsoft Docs page Connect to datasets in the Power BI service from Power BI Desktop) on my organisation's Power BI Pro service but when I try to open it a dialog box from desktop states the file is "corrupt or an invalid report file". Could anyone advise if there is something obvious I have missed, or is this an issue that cannot be fixed?

I created the original dataset and published it to a workspace on my organisations Power BI Pro service (let's call it master_data.pbix). I then created a new report (report_1.pbix) using desktop, linking to the dataset published on the service. I saved report_1.pbix on a SharePoint space, and published it to the service (same workspace as master_data.pbix). I then closed the desktop file. When I tried to open the report_1.pbix in desktop from the SharePoint space a dialog box appeared stating report_1.pbix is "corrupt or an invalid report file".

I am able to access the published version of report_1 on the service, and it appears to link correctly to master_data.pbix, and does not appear to be either corrupt or invalid. I am wanting to use desktop to edit report_1.pbix (i.e. not the more limited editing options on the service) and publish the updated version of report_1.pbix to the service. However this issue is preventing me from opening it in desktop at all.