Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn a 50% discount on the DP-600 certification exam by completing the Fabric 30 Days to Learn It challenge.

Alex_Ooi
Helper IV
Helper IV

PostgreSQL Timeout Error

Hi,

I need your expert advice and possible workarounds that are not too manual for the timeout error I encounter every time I query my dB in PostgreSQL. This is the same type of error appearing in Excel's Power Query and Power BI.

timeout.jpg

I am not a developer, so the concept of "duplicating" tables/queries into another dB is foreign to me. Another solution that I am currently using is of course to download my query on specific intervals - currently, every end of month - into a folder where I could use Folder.Files ( ) function.

The issue arises when sometimes my users require views that fall out of the specific intervals. For example, I have not downloaded the query for December today, but my users require information from 1 - 22 December. I find my current way of working is still manual.

Any idea how I can workaround the timeout error, so I can do a schedule refresh in Power BI to always get the latest insights?

Your advices are much appreciated.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Hi @Alex_Ooi ,

Maybe you could reference the ways to change timeout parameters to check if you could connect the data source without an error. 

1. Add timeout parameter to connection string:

• Connect Timeout=xx  (xx = seconds)

2. Otherwise, you could add  timeout parameter to Query argument within M Code / Advanced Editor:

• let
    Source =
    Odbc.DataSource(
    xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx,
    [Query = "xxxxxxxxx",CommandTimeout =#duration(0,1,0,0)]
    )
    in
    Source 

Reference:

https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/powerquery-m/odbc-datasource

Best Regards,

Xue Ding

If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.

Best Regards,
Xue Ding