Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Grow your Fabric skills and prepare for the DP-600 certification exam by completing the latest Microsoft Fabric challenge.

sha823
Regular Visitor

Only show columns for which a value has been chosen in slicer (slicer has many values!)

I am new to Power BI. I have seen other posts asking the same question as my post, but I cannot use those solutions, because my slicers have too many values in them.

Let's say I have a table similar to this:

Corporation   
Chain      
Store      
Product      
Rating
Corp. AChain AStore AApple3.1
Corp. AChain AStora AOrange2.9
Corp. AChain AStore BApple4
Corp. AChain BStore COrange3.1
Corp. AChain BStore CBanana2.7
Corp. AChain BStore DBanana4
Corp. BChain CStore EApple3
Corp. BChain CStore FOrange1.8
Corp. BChain CStore FBanana4.8
Corp. BChain DStore GBanana2.4
Corp. BChain DStore HOrange3.5
Corp. BChain DStore HBanana

So you can see, it is several companies and daughter companies, that rate various products differently. Note that each column can have many duplicate values, even though each store only has one rating for each product.

I wish to make slicers based on the values in the columns. One slicer where you can choose corporation, one where you can choose the chains you're interested in, and one slicer where you can choose stores. Then the table should show the average rating of a product, based on your choice.

For instance, if I choose "Chain A" and "Chain D" in my slicer, then it should show the average rating that those chains gave to each product (apple, orange and banana).

However, it's important that it does not show any other columns. So if I choose "Chain A" and "Chain D" in the Chain-slicer, the only columns in my table should be "Chain", "Product" and "Average Rating".