Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

zcaruso

Need to calculate % of Total with some catches

Hello,

I don't believe this is too complicated but i'm still new to Power BI so I can't figure it out. What I need is a measure to calculate % of true Total on a Top 10. Apparently I'm not set up to easily do what I want. 

So I have 2 tables, an agent lookup table and a master table with all cases. I've joined the tables in my model to only show me cases that were created by one of our agents. I have a COUNTROWS measure to give me the total CaseCount. If i show that measure of a % of the total it looks good, then after i filter to the top 10 categories it's giving me the % of the top 10 not the overall total. I know why, I just don't know how to fix it. I tried using the ALL function on the cases table but the calculation doesn't consider the join, it just counts the whole table, closer to 12k, not 7k after the join. 

I went manual for now as = CaseCount/7943 to give me what i need but would like to have a more automated measure, if possible.

Hopes that's enough to start. Thanks!

Zach

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
edhans
Super User
Super User

See the attached file.

I created three measures to make it very clear, but you can consolidate this into fewer measures if you want.

To get a simple count of cases per agent:

Case Count = COUNTROWS('Cases')

To get the total cases irrespective of any filters on the report/model:

Case Total = COUNTROWS(ALL('Cases'))

To get the percent of total for your top 10 agents.

Percent of Case Total = DIVIDE('Cases'[Case Count],'Cases'[Case Total])

Hope that helps. If not, please read this to help us get you a better answser.

Did I answer your question? Mark my post as a solution!
Did my answers help arrive at a solution? Give it a kudos by clicking the Thumbs Up!