Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

FrisoW
Helper I
Helper I

Multiple date columns reacting to 1 slicer

Hi,

I'm pretty new to Power BI, been working with it for a couple of weeks now, and can't believe how much I've been struggling trying to set 1 slicer act for different date columns in different tables.
To explain my issue, I've created 2 simple tables and a date table (which I'm supposed to do in order to have 1 slicer respond to multiple tables, right?).

As you can see, ProjectID is the related column.

How can I create 1 date slicer so that it responds to both tables? Obviously I can't create a date table and relate it to both date columns as there is an indirect relationship between the 2 tables already.

tables.png

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Hi @FrisoW @,

You can create two measures for two tables with the IF function, and then apply the measure to the visual filter.

You can refer to the pbix.

Best Regards,

Liang

If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.

View solution in original post

8 REPLIES 8
FrisoW
Helper I
Helper I

Thanks for your reply, I may not have explained myself enough, or I don't understand your reply sorry.

I recreated the visual in PBI. First image is what I'd like (but in a way more complex situation with many tables that I won't be able to explain here).

Tables are related by Project ID *:1

First table is displays the Project creation date, second table is when the materials are added (again, this is just an example which doesn't have to make sense). The slicers have to filter the first table on the creation date, and the second table on the "date added".

view.pngpbi.png

Hi @FrisoW ,