Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Measure overlapping date periods from table and date slicer

Hello everybody,

I am quite new to Power BI and try to solve a task, that I think should be rather easy, however I cannot fiure it out.

In my tabel are two columns like start_date and end_date. Now I want to apply something like a date slicer to filter the data, preferably slicing monthly periods.

What I want to get is the number of rows in my table, that are "active" during the slicer-period, that is, if the period from start_date to end_date is overlapping with the current month from the date slicer (it might also contain the whole month).

Does someone know how to solve this?

I would very much appreciate any help!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
v-xicai
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @Anonymous ,

You may create calendar table without creating relationship with your data table, then add the date of calendar table to the slicer visual to filter data.

Calendar= CALENDARAUTO()

Then you can create measure like DAX below.

CountRows=

Var SlicerDate=SELECTEDVALUE(Calendar[Date])

Return

CALCULATE(COUNTROWS('Table'),FILTER(ALLSELECTED('Table'),'Table'[start_date ]<=SlicerDate&&'Table'[end_date]>=SlicerDate))

Best Regards,

Amy 

Community Support Team _ Amy

If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5
v-xicai
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @Anonymous ,

You may create calendar table without creating relationship with your data table, then add the date of calendar table to the slicer visual to filter data.

Calendar= CALENDARAUTO()

Then you can create measure like DAX below.

CountRows=

Var SlicerDate=SELECTEDVALUE(Calendar[Date])

Return