Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

owenkosnen

Measure cannot be filtered by Date Slicer

Hi,

I have a measure that was created via "New Quick Measure" to calculate the QoQ% Change based on a calculated column (just the total of column A + B + C).
I'd like to plot these column and the QoQ% Change into a bar and line chart, and add a Date Slicer. However, it seems that the measure cannot be filtered and displayed by the chart when Date Slicer is being adjusted and causes the whole chart to show error.

[Full date period]

owenkosnen_0-1644307796117.png

[Adjusted Date period]

owenkosnen_1-1644307828360.png

As I am new to Power BI, I wonder if anyone can shed some light to what might be the solution for this. I believe it is doable to be done in Power BI, but perhaps there is a trick to make it happen...

Best Regards,

Owen

10 REPLIES 10
TheoC
Super User
Super User

Hi @owenkosnen 

You can use the following measures:

QTD = CALCULATE ( SUM ( Table[Amount] ) , DATESQTD ( 'Date'[Date] ) )

Last QTR = CALCULATE ( SUM ( Table[Amount] ) , DATEADD ( 'Date'[Date] , -1 , Quarter ) )

QoQ% = ( [QTD] - [Last QTR] ) / [Last QTR]

Ensure to change the measure [QoQ%] to percentage.

Hope this helps.

Theo 🙂

If I have posted a response that resolves your question, please accept it as a solution to formally close the post.

Also, if you are as passionate about Power BI, DAX and data as I am, please feel free to reach out if you have any questions, queries, or if you simply want to connect and talk to another data geek!

Want to connect?www.linkedin.com/in/theoconias

@owenkosnen sorry, I had an extra bracket at the end of the QoQ%

If I have posted a response that resolves your question, please accept it as a solution to formally close the post.