Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Mandi-Holt
Frequent Visitor

Matrix visual - sorting in chronological order rather than alphabetical

I am new to Power BI and have been trying to sort in a Matrix visual.

The visual I am trying to create has the durations of operations carried out by a vessel split by the date and the location the vessel was at.

Currently I have the visual below which has the date and the locations visited by the vessel on that date. The locations are currently being displayed in alphabetical order, but I need to have them displayed in chronological order from when the vessel visited them.

MandiHolt_0-1643273288397.png

The matrix above should have the order on the 19th September 2021 as:

• B14
  • Transiting to P2 South Quay Nigg
  • P2 South Quay Nigg
  • Transiting to C13

And on the 20th September 2021 as:

• Transiting to C13
  • C13
  • Transiting to C07
  • C07
  • Transiting to P2 South Quay Nigg
  • P2 South Quay Nigg

There is no set ordering to the locations being visited by the vessel during the project, the vessel can visit multiple locations in a single day and can also return to a previous location on the same day or later in the project. These multiple visits to the same location would have to be displayed separately on the relevant date.

I have linked to a pbix file and some data in a csv file here:

https://www.dropbox.com/sh/8nps0opznudunjc/AAACDlktuoP2ZWwDXVN6ym5Qa?dl=0

Many thanks

4 REPLIES 4
v-xiaotang
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @Mandi-Holt 

Try this function,vxiaotang_0-1643791751478.png

Besides, here are two sorting methods for your reference

Change how a chart is sorted in a Power BI report

Sort one column by another column in Power BI Desktop

Best Regards,

Community Support Team _Tang